Haiku for Gnocchi

small squishy pillows

flour and sweet potato made

I eat you no more

Last night I made sweet potato gnocchi with a caramelized onion & gorgonzola sauce, topped with sauteed mushrooms. Honestly, I will never make that recipe for gnocchi again. Yes, it turned out “light and fluffy,” but I still don’t like the consistency. Plus, it didn’t even taste like sweet potato; the flour seemed to overpower the taste. I scoured the internet for all the recipes I could find, but it looked like I didn’t even overdo the flour. Oh well. The gorgonzola sauce was amazing though. I think I’ll make that again soon and pair it with some capellini or penne + spicy Italian sausage.

Leave a Reply

