Chicken Soup? Yes, Please.

This morning I woke up feeling a little run-down, so I decided to use my work-from-home day to make some chicken soup. This isn’t your usual chicken soup. No, sir. This chicken soup is savory, hearty, and hits you just right. Guaranteed to make you come back for seconds – and maybe thirds. I usually end up making this soup with whatever vegetables are left in my fridge, so this is the closest I’ve been to the original recipe. The turnips – which I’d never have thought to use in a soup – gave an almost silky consistency and added a bright flavor that I hadn’t had in any of my previous batches. I would’ve added the sweet potato, if only the cashier at Ralph’s didn’t forget to put it in my bag. I still wanted to see what that “sweetness” would’ve done, so I added 2 tsp of sugar instead. I think the touch of sugar helped balance out the rosemary and oregano quite well.

Turnip Chicken Soup

2 tbsp butter

1 onion, roughly chopped

1 leek, halved and chopped into 1/4 inch moons

4 medium turnips, peeled, ends removed, and chopped into 1/2 inch dice

4 carrots, peeled, ends removed, and chopped 1/2 inch dice

1/2 tbsp dried oregano

Meat from 1 cooked chicken (I use one from Ralph’s deli)

1/5 quarts of chicken stock (Better than Bouillon works well)

1/2 cup red wine

1/2 tsp whole cumin seeds

1/2 tbsp fresh rosemary, minced

salt & pepper

2 tbsp sugar

2 tsp miso paste

In a heavy stock pot, heat the butter on medium. Once hot, add the leeks and onions and saute until soft, about 8 minutes. Grind in some black pepper.

Add turnips and carrots and saute for 5-10 minutes. Add a quart of the chicken stock, the red wine, cumin, oregano, 10 good grinds of black pepper, and bring to a boil. Simmer for 15 minutes, until the vegetables are tender. Puree soup using an immersion blender until desired consistency. (I like my soup mostly pureed, but if you want more chunks, just blend less). Add in the rosemary, chicken, and the rest of the stock and return to a boil. Spoon out a cup of stock and dissolve the miso. Add back to the soup and add salt to taste. Simmer for 5 minutes more but make sure not to bring back to the boil. Taste, adjust seasonings, turn off the heat and allow the flavors to meld for 5 minutes. Serve with a good hunk of cozy bread.

Leave a Reply

