Magic(al) Coffee.

In lieu of going to a new coffee spot, I decided to try out this little recipe/technique from food52. I had some Intelligentsia beans I wanted to finish up, so why not?! I’d never been a fan of iced coffee – probably because I’d only tasted the ickiness of Starbucks’ version – but armed with my fancy shmancy beans, I was willing to give it a shot.

The end result was definitely tasty and also a welcomed cold treat since it was finally warm here in Los Angeles.  Would I make it again? Perhaps – but in larger quantities. I was only able to get 2 decent-sized servings from it. Or maybe I won’t go through the hassle of cold brewing it and just let the cinnamon and sugar sit with a pot of coffee in the refrigerator. I’ll have to do some scientific tests obviously to work this out.

Coffee Base

2/3 cup coarsely ground coffee

3 cups water

1 tsp cinnamon

3 tbsp dark brown sugar

Combine ingredients in a jar and stir. Refrigerate overnight. (Note: I had mine sitting for 2-3 days before the next step and it didn’t come out too strong.)

Finished Drink

milk, half and half, or cream

ice

Pour the coffee base through a mesh sieve or strainer. Fill glass with ice. Pour in coffee until 3/4 full, then top with milke (half and half or cream).

That said, I should get back on my coffee tour soon.

Leave a Reply

