Peach and Noodles.

Today was filled with some quick cooking. Before work, I managed to make a peach cobbler using the almost-too-ripe peaches I had left from my Costco run right after I returned from Spain. Apparently cobbler is a quick and easy dessert – maybe 40-45 minutes total. It was so hard not eating a bit of it before work.

Sawyer tried to pretend he didn’t care about the food. But I know better.

I was scared that it would turn out too sweet since I used very ripe peaches, but it turned out great! Since it’s peach season I can’t wait to make it again.

 

Peach Cobbler

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

Filling:

6 ripe fresh peaches – peeled, pitted, and cut into wedges

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp ground nutmeg

1 tsp fresh lemon juice

2 tsp cornstarch (I substituted 4 tsp flour and it came out okay)

Topping:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

6 tbsp salted butter, chilled, cut into small pieces

1/4 cup boiling water

Mixed:

3 tbsp white sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 425° F.

Filling: In a large bowl, combine all ingredients for the filling. Toss to coat evenly and pour into a baking dish. Bake for 10 minutes.

Topping: In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except the water. Using a pastry cutter or knives, combine until mixture resembles coarse meal. Stir in boiling water until just combined.

To put together: Remove peaches from oven and drop spoonfuls of topping over them. Sprinkler entire cobbler with cinnamon-sugar mixture. Baking until topping is golden (about 25 minutes).

Note: put a baking sheet on the rack below to prevent any spill-overs from dirtying your oven.

Best enjoyed with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or a tall glass of cold milk.

After I came home from work, I whipped up a tasty East Asian-inspired soba salad. Total time? 10 minutes. Oooh yeaaah…

I can’t lie though – I ate the peach cobbler before I even started making the salad.

 

Shrimp Soba Salad with Ginger-Peanut Dressing

Adapted from Food Nouveau

5 oz. dried soba noodles, cooked according to package directions

handful of large shrimp, cooked

1/2 carrot, julienned

handful of broccoli florets

2 green onions, thinly sliced

2 tbsp chopped peanuts

1 tbsp sesame seed

Fresh cilantro, chopped, to taste

Ginger-Peanut Dressing (blend in food processor)

6 tbsp soy sauce

3 tbsp rice wine vinegar

2 tbsp peanut oil

1 tbsp sesame oil

1 1/2 creamy peanut butter

1 garlic clove

1 tbsp fresh ginger

1 tsp sambal oelek (or 1 small red thai chili)

1 tsp sugar

In a large bowl, toss noodles, carrot, broccoli, scallions, half of the peanuts and sesame seeds, and dressing. Portion out each serving and top with shrimp (I dipped mine in the dressing), cilantro, peanuts, and sesame seeds.

I love cold noodle salads since they’re satisfying, yet light. I think I found a keeper.

Leave a Reply

