Super Spartan Race Report.

Happy New Year!

Wanting to have all of my b-school apps behind me, I put the cooking scene on the backburner. However, that didn’t stop me from having a private scrumptious NYE spread with the boy this December 31st.

Honestly, the picture doesn’t do it justice.

***

On January 4th, a Thrillist deal popped up in my inbox. $65 for race entry for the SoCal Super Spartan. Awesome deal, right? Let’s forward it to the boyfriend.

Fast forward 20 minutes.

Somehow I got roped into doing it with the boyfriend. I don’t know if it was a temporary lapse in sanity or me trying to make myself look good. It was a weird mix of excitement and fear. On one hand, there was the happiness of sloshing through mud and water. And on the other were the 8+ miles I had to trek.

A few days before the event, my roommate’s fiance asked me if I had been training. Uh, no. Should I have been? Eek!

January 29th finally came. With a 11 am start time, we didn’t have to crack the break of dawn to get out to Temecula. Looking around at the crowd, I got pretty intimidated looking at everyone who was taller, bigger, and more muscular than me. And it’s sort of intimidating when your boyfriend is an insane runner and amazing athlete. But I loved how supportive he was and that he stayed by my side the whole way, even when I had blisters on both feet and had to empty out my shoes several times during the course of the race. Couldn’t help by apologize the whole time. I’m curious to see how he’d do without me as a limiting factor. Say, in Tough Mudder??

So for the course. Hills. Hills and more hills. Before the race, my main concern was the mileage I’d have to run, but with all the hills, there weren’t many opportunities to run anyway. I was fine with that. +1 Megan.

Sexy face #1:

Sexy Face #2:

Almost done!

Obstacles? How cool! The obstacles were the best part of the whole thing since it meant dirt/water/mud/awesomeness. I even got some war wounds in the form of scrapes, bruises, and blisters. I had the time of my life and I’d do another obstacle race in a heartbeat. The length was perfect; don’t know if I can handle anything much longer, and anything shorter seems…too short.

Now that I’m playing the waiting game with b-schools, I have to start trying out recipes again. Valentine’s Day is coming up, too. I’m tempted to try some new things, but I don’t want to disappoint. Hrm. We’ll see what menu I come up with.

Leave a Reply

